Okay, so a recap of the past couple days...
I have had a nightmare! Had a couple days of really bad diarrhoea, which I have worked out happens if I don't take the Metformin EXACTLY at the same time that i'm having something to eat. And when I say eat, it has to be a proper meal, not just a snack. So apart from last night, I think I have that problem fixed. Next is the heartburn. It's just awful. It seems to be as soon as I get up (which can be any time of the day because of my shift) and right before I go to bed. And any time my stomach is empty; which is a lot because I have no appetite. I've been taking Gaviscon but that isn't helping really at all at work and i've been taking peptac when I'm at home (which the doctor gave me), but that isn't really touching it at home either...so heartburn is on my list to speak to the doctor about next week. The feeling sick hasn't been too bad. Mostly I feel sick when i'm hungry, so it's hard to shove food down my throat, but i'm persevering! Lastly is the headaches. OH MAN! There's nothing I can do about my headaches. I actually thought I was dying the other night. It took cold compresses on my forehead and neck, 2 Dihydracodeine and 2 paracetamol to calm it down enough so that I could sleep. I really cannot stress how bad the headaches have been. They are just so dehabilitating that you can't get anything done. So another thing I need to bring up with the doctor. Because I have to go to work, I have reduced my intake of Metformin back to 1x500mg a day until I see the doctor next week when I can talk to her about the headaches. Everything else I can kinda power through.
I've also noticed, and it may be a coincidence, but I don't think so...but if I eat things that are going to spike my blood sugars, then I feel much much worse than normal. I had a sandwich the other day because it was all I could buy from the limited availability of where I was and my stomach was going crazy afterwards. Maybe because along with the metformin, i'm trying to make changes to my body too that it just can't cope when I put 'bad' stuff into it? I don't know, but it's helping me to consciously make the right decisions when it comes to picking my food. Today, for instance, instead of using the easy route of cooking up the fresh pasta that's in my fridge with a quick cheese sauce (Bisto), I stir fried some Cauliflower Cous Cous, Carrot Spaghetti, couple Bratwursts, ham, peppers and some sweetcorn and had that for lunch and will take the leftovers to work tonight and have the rest for my dinner. It was actually delicious! And including eating tonight's leftovers, it will only have been 750 calories, which means I'm sticking to the 800 cal limit I'm doing with Michael Mosley's book.
*takes a moment break because the heartburn has kicked in again*
Okay, i'm back. I think the most important thing I have to update on is my actual blood sugars test. A couple days ago I took my fasting test which was 5.7 mol/L. I took it again after having food (before I really started watching what I was eating sugar/carb wise) and it was 7.6 mol/L. That's quite high. Today, my fasting was again 5.7 mol/L and after eating the above, my after food test (2 hours later) was just 6.0 mol/L. Now, i'm not a doctor and I don't really know if the changes could have that quick an effect on my blood glucose, but my limited knowledge and a little common sense would tell me that there's not been as high a spike in my blood sugar (which in affect causes the release of insulin), which I would attribute to the fact I'm eating the right food now? A doctor or expert might prove me wrong, buuuut....that's what i'm figuring at the moment.
So, weight wise I think my tummy doesn't look as swollen and my mummy(!) says I look like i've lose weight, but using her scales last night it looks like i've put on 1lb!! I know scales are different so the doctor's scales might show something else when I go to see her next week, but i'll be a little disappointed if it truly is no difference. Especially when I know myself that i'm probably eating at least half of what I used to eat, the right food this time and i'm not putting sugar into my body anymore! We'll see though. I'm not giving up because I know i'm looking after my body now, which I wasn't doing before.
Got to go and get ready for work now.
Rhona out.
No comments:
Post a Comment